• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

Light hearted vs Serious

Reaction score
So this thread is very simple with what it's about, I'm not really good at coming up with deep discussions but I was actually wondering about this myself.

So we all have our tastes in what we like to write and read, that can vary from person to person as everyone has a different opinion on how things should be.

So basically, when it comes to stories do you prefer light hearted or serious stories. This might differ between reading and writing though as some people prefer to write serious stories but might like to read more light hearted stuff or vice versa.

I myself like a bit of both, I think that they're both elements that go hand in hand and that combining them works better, and it's how these two elements balance out that really brings out a story. Not that I don't think all serious stories can't be good especially since a lot of popular movies and books and tv shows have serious stories, but I still think that there should be that sense of comedy and cheerfulness or something like that from time to time.

When it comes to my writing I like to mix up both genres together but I myself lean more towards more light hearted stuff, I can write them up better plus it lets me have more fun and picks up my mood.

When it comes to reading I don't really mind and I feel mostly the same way as when I write, though again I do like my comedy.