Search results for query: *

1. Snuggle Tier List

POPULAR: What Did You Read Today?

It's nonfic fanfic. Battle With Me: Pokémon XD's a critical analysis of Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness. It's my attempt to do a text-based Level With Me, an analysis/Let's Play hybrid run by Robert Yang. Robert Yang actually teaches game design at NYU game center; thus, I'm studying up. CH4 in...
  2. Snuggle Tier List

Yesterday: @namohysip's "In Beta". Recommended; builds up tension well in a "relevant to real life" sort of way. Scratched my personal itches; if you like the fics I like, you'll probably like "In Beta". Today: Research papers on gaming taxonomies. So far, I've read primary sources on Bartle's...
  3. Snuggle Tier List

Quiet forum lately. Guess I'll explain some research I've been reading. Today's topic: nostalgic's effect on music tastes! Do you like that song because it's good, or do you like it because it's nostalgic? So far, I've read "Music and Emotions in the Brain: Familiarity Matters", "Berlyne...
  4. Snuggle Tier List

"On Writing Well" by the late great William Zinsser. It's on writing well. Nonfiction, specifically. My current "fic" is nonfiction; thought I'd study up. The book's the most quotable I've ever read, yet can't be summed up in one quote. Zinsser writes economically, never wasting a word. Any...
  5. Snuggle Tier List

A looooooot of articles about community moderation. Heard whispers there was a recruiting drive coming soon, so I figured I'd school up on the subject. First up: "Should Forum Moderators Be Paid? Some Don't Even Want To" by Cecilia D'Anastasio. Been a fan of her work ever since got an interview...
  6. Snuggle Tier List

The Prelude to @Beth Pavell's The Long Walk, and I finished Consequences of Erudite Vernacular Utilized Irrespective of Necessity: Problems with Using Long Words Needlessly (link to .pdf). Working on a review for The Long Walk's Prelude, so in the meantime, I'll share a quote from Needlessly...