• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

character description in the fic

Warrior of Fire

This is the Monado's power!
Reaction score
So, as anyone who's read any good work of fiction, the author gives a fitting description as to a character's appearance so you can picture what they'd look like whenever a new important character appears. I'm not really good at that part, but I am good at giving basic descriptions in the profiles for them. Any tips for me?

I can lend you a couple of tips on the matter of character description. :)

Firstly, NEVER go overboard with the details and stuff. That just clutters the story and stalls its continuation. It can be rather boring too. So you want to keep it at a reasonable length. Even just a few details is fine in some cases as well.

Second, try not to be too vague. For example, saying a character is a brown haired boy with blue jeans, and a green shirt. Many characters could fit this description. You want to show your readers a much more unique appearance for the character.

Here's an example of one of my character descriptions, though it's actually for two different characters. Just in case you wouldn't mind looking at one. lol

Fire Emblem: Dawn of Darkness - Chapter 11 said: