• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

Dark Sands team: The Desert brings Doom

KarlG

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to competitive battling and a Bug specialty trainer, but recently I had an idea to make a Dark Sands team.

Let's break it down:

Tyranitar
Item: Tyranitarite
Ability: Sand Stream
Adamant
252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 Def

Stone Edge
Stealth Rock
Dragon Tail
Iron Head

Tyranitar is my setter: it comes up, opens up a sandstorm, puts in a Stealth Rock, and then Dragon Tail to knock tanky guys away. Stone Edge is mandatory offense moves to deal with any Bugs. Iron Head handles the Fairy type. For a Fighting or Ground type, I switch him out.

Cacturne
Item: Focus Sash
Ability: Sand Veil
Jolly
4 HP / 252 Atk / 252 Spe

Fell Stinger
Spikes
Sucker Punch
Leech Seed

Cacturne is a disrupter. Leech Seed adds sustainability, and Focus Sash is to prevent a OHKO by a Bug or Fire type, to at least get one Spikes in. Fell Stinger helps to up attack if the opponent is using a Grass type to circumvent Leech Seed. Sucker Punch surprises opponents and take priority users out.

Bisharp
Item: Life Orb
Ability: Defiant
Adamant
252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 Def

Sucker Punch
Swords Dance
Iron Head
Stone Edge