• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

How do you usually construct your in-game teams?

zoroarctic

Reaction score
The types on my team will vary, but my main play through teams almost always follow the same formula:

at least two Pokemon from the current generation/region.

At least one older Pokemon that I've never used before.

At least one feline and/or canine Pokemon

How about you guys? Anyone else have a specific set of rules they like to follow when building their teams?

Usually, I just try to cover as many types as possible. Usually looks something like this:

-Water
-Flying
-Rock/Ground/Steel
-Fire Pokemon
-Ghost/Dark
-Psychic/Fairy
-Grass/Electric
-Fighting
-Poison

Basically a spread out team. I also try to get at least around 4 dual types, if not all 6 being dual typed. Usually use just 6 main Pokemon, so I try to compress as many types in as I can.

For a better explanation, just take a look at my teams in my sig!

Basically throwing in a bunch of Pokes I like and have not used much before. And I try to vary the types. And also, for all the games I have played, my starter has always been included on the team.

On my teams I usually:

• try only using Pokemon that I've never used before instead of always going with my favorites
  • keep the starter on my team
  • avoid having more than one Pokemon of the same type, or more than two that share a weakness