• A new LGBTQ+ forum is now being trialed and there have been changes made to the Support and Advice forum. To read more about these updates, click here.
  • Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

I keep getting the urge to restart games

Reaction score
I have a problem that interferes with my ability to enjoy Pokemon games, and I'm wondering if anyone can relate. I obsess over all kinds of small details such as the date I started playing, which Pokemon I use, the data that's registered in my Pokedex, and so on. If something doesn't feel quite right, I get the urge to delete my save file and restart.

I once erased an entire Omega Ruby living dex in the middle of the night, because thinking about all the attributes of those Pokemon - their abilities, genders, the balls they were caught in, and so on - was keeping me awake. I made a new living dex in Ultra Sun a few years later, and that one suffered the same fate.

I avoid downloading event Pokemon, because I don't like having anything on my save file that can't be re-obtained at a later date. I dread encountering shinies, because I feel that it makes my Pokedex untidy if I have a few shinies registered but not all of them. Sometimes I avoid using nicknames even if I have really good ideas for them, because I feel that they make my Pokemon look untidy.