• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

HELP: Linking to Bulbapedia when new species show up?

Autofire

Because code
Reaction score
This was originally going to be a question on the "Simple Questions, Simple Answers," but as I typed up my post, I began to realize it might not be such a simple question, even if the answers probably can be simple.

So this is my first time writing a story of this scale (and getting this far). I'm not really sure what to do when a pokemon shows up for a first time in the story. I have a couple of choices:
  • I assume that the reader already knows what each pokemon looks like. I won't waste a knowledgable reader's time, but I've had times where I was reading someone's story and I could not visualize what was going on. Granted, I should have just pulled up Bulbapedia, but I didn't think to at the time.
  • I assume the reader doesn't know any of them and describe what they look like. This makes sure no one gets left out, but it also could get tedious. Also some of the species look pretty weird so describing them seems kinda tough. :confused:

As a bit of a compromise, I'm considering turning the first reference to a given species into a link to the matching Bulbapedia entry. This way, the first time an uncommon species appears, readers can follow the link and get an idea of what I'm talking about. But I'm also worried that having readers go to Bulbapedia pages will disrupt the flow.