• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

Monotype Competitive Teams

KarlG

Reaction score
Hello guys,

So as you may know (or don't), I am a Bug type expert, and I am currently interested in creating a monotype competitive team - that means, a team that is able to cover a lot of the type's weaknesses, pull off a win in most monotype battles, and also handle typical standard battle teams over wifi.

So feel free to post your favorite Dark, Psychic, etc. teams that you think will do well competitively. Hybrid types are of course most welcome, and at most you can include ONE Pokemon not of your monotype, but it HAS to have one move of the monotype.

Fire away!

When I used to run one incarnations of this website's "Pokemon League" i used to rock a Bug Monotype team. This was back in Generation IV, when obviously there was a noticeable difference in available pokemon. I've flirted with the idea of recreating that bug team, or building a better bug pokemon team, but haven't had time to start. Keeping in mind the two generation gap since then, my team, iirc, was Yanmega, Heracross, Scizor, Forretress, Ninjask and a last changeable spot, all with their standard movepools. These later generations have definitely opened up the possibility of creating a much better team.