• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

New on the block...

Patrick Kennedy

Reaction score
Hello everyone, new to the forums. Looks like there is a lot of great content on the site. I'm a old skool trainer, started way way way back on the OG gameboy R/B/Y days. I remember many days of training, nights on with the cork screw light attachment for the OG gameboy, yes they were not back lit and needed a source of light to play in the dark, many vacations chasing my pocket monsters. Well I picked up the gameboy ( 3ds ) again and started on a new pokemon adventure with my son. I've started with the VC version of Blue. My sole goal is to become the greatest trainer of all time, lol no, really its just to build up my pokedex again.
My biggest concern/need is what generation should I start at with the goal of catching em` all? Will I need to play all the versiond and use the pokebank to complete this task? Or is there a generation that has ALL previous gen pokemon including legendary ( game exclusives ) wrapped up in a more current title? Or should I just continue on the path I started and play through all the gens? I have a week ( 20ish hours ) into blue, 5 badges 50-60 logged into the pokedex. Looking to save time on older gens where their pokemon are catchable in newer content.
Thanks for the read and the help.
Charmander..... Fire spin.....

Hi Patrick! Welcome to the forums.