• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

Speculation No Eeveelution that evolves by trade?

Reaction score
So far, all the Eeveelution methods have been shown as...

1. Using evolution stones (Flareon, Jolteon, Vaporeon)
2. High friendship (Umbreon, Espeon) or Ribbons(PMD)
3. Specific locations near specific rocks (Leafeon, Glaceon)
4. High amie affection (Sylveon)

Those are almost all the evolution methods that other pokemon uses as well. But for some reason, you can't evolve Eevee by trade. What's more, trade-evolution existed ever since Generation 1, yet they never used it for one of the many ways to evolve Eevee.

Why do you think Eevee was never made to evolve by trade?

I don't think a trade-evolution Eevee is a good idea. Actually I can't really explain why, but it just doesn't fit. Eevee is like a starter pokemon to me, and starters don't evolve by trading. I also can't see Eevee as a pokemon you just give away, even if it's just for an evolution. (I probably sound so crazy right now lol). But I welcome other evolution methods for Eevee, maybe with specific moves or other polemon in the party.