• Hey Trainers! Be sure to check out Corsola Beach, our newest section on the forums, in partnership with our friends at Corsola Cove! At the Beach, you can discuss the competitive side of the games, post your favorite Pokemon memes, and connect with other Pokemon creators!
  • Due to the recent changes with Twitter's API, it is no longer possible for Bulbagarden forum users to login via their Twitter account. If you signed up to Bulbagarden via Twitter and do not have another way to login, please contact us here with your Twitter username so that we can get you sorted.

Translations of Matsumiya's Tweets [Latest: May & Brendan]

hanecco

Hoppip Appreciator
Reaction score
Toshinobu Matsumiya is the scenario writer over at Game Freak. I've been looking through Matsumiya's twitter and have found some interesting tweets by him, which I've translated. That's what this thread is dedicated to. My translations might have mistakes, and I'm just an amateur, but I try my best to make sure they are accurate. If you'd like to add information from here to Bulbapedia or whatever, feel free. Credit is appreciated but not required.

===

Matsumiya tweeted that the painter Paul Klee was used as the inspiration for N.

In a Nintendo Dream interview translated by Lava Cut Content, Sugimori said that Masuda asked for N to be made into a "genius". This prompted a lot of discussion among the design team, and based on Matsumiya's 2013 tweets, it seems they eventually chose a real-life genius to base N's character on...

twitter.com/matsumiyan/status/76661714980048896
Though it's difficult because tomorrow, I've got a meeting with people from outside the company first thing in the morning, before long I'm heading to the Paul Klee exhibition. When we were shaping N's character, the genius we decided to use as a reference was Klee. Afterwards, I was surprised that Klee was in Sakanaction's songs... but I kept that secret until now.